The first Buzz of Carnival in Puerto de la Cruz

Posted: February 24, 2011 in Food, Life, Spain, Tenerife, Travel
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Last night I saw something that sent a shiver of excitement down my spine and brought a tingle to my tastebuds; something that seductively whispered ‘carnaval is here’ in my ears and had me licking my lips in anticipation of the maelstrom that was about to assault the senses of anyone who had the courage to plunge into its all-consuming madness.

I’m not talking about seeing the carnaval stage taking shape or the mini taster parade to announce this year’s carnaval queen candidates…no, I’m talking about a force that was responsible for pulling me out of a decade of being a pescatarian and back, grunting with desire, into the world of the carnivores again.

I’m talking about a food stall extraordinaire…Mesón California.

Forget the wussy bite-sized montaditos of the Madrids and the Barcelonas of this world; at Mesón California you get Desperate Dan-sized, jaw testing versions. Check out the picture if you think I’m exaggerating. These are montaditos for real men – and women of course – and being carnival, also for ghouls, vampires and slutty nuns and nurses etc.

Its erection is the sign for me that carnaval has arrived and I’m positively salivating at the thought of my annual pilgrimage to worship at this exquisite shrine to Spanish street cuisine.

Comments
  1. zephyrliving says:

    Ha ha! Are you celebrating food, sex or both? Its erection? I know you’re talking about the stage…or are you? The photograph is absolutely lovely, as always. But please reassure me those green things are vegetable matter and not eels or something…and what the hell are those black things?

    You make everything in Tenerife sound glorious, like a spiritual awakening. Does Tenerife have transformative powers? I guess so, since you’ve gone over to the dark side–carnivore…

    Enjoy Carnaval as Lent comes right upon its heels!

    Peace, T.

    • dragojac says:

      See what this stall does to me? I get completely carried away by the vision of it. I’m having an affaire de coeur with a food stand.

      Be reassured – those green things are grilled Italian peppers…but the black things are morcillas (blood sausages made from pigs’ blood, onion, nuts and a mix of herbs and spices). They taste much better than they sound – but not if you’re a vegetarian, then they really are the Darth Vader of the food world (now I’ll have dreams of a mutant one of them saying ‘Jack, I am your father’ – okay I know it’s a misquote but that’s the line everyone remembers).

      Tenerife transformative? Yes I’d say so, but I reckon experiencing a different culture anywhere changes you.

  2. Richard says:

    Tenerife can be ‘transformative’ in many different ways. For dragojac it’s the buz of the street life and of course the erect sausages 🙂 For me it’s being out in a big ocean swell and looking back up at Mt Teide with a sprinkling of snow, etched against the azure sky … or walking and biking in the mountains and forests … the place is just epic ! (and it’s no wonder that it gets used as a film set).

    Carnival is of course like the mountains and the ocean also (a fiesta) on an epic scale. You can get so ‘spiritually awakened’ at carnival that you’ll need to sleep for about a week to recover 🙂

  3. […] contestants in this surreal event, but its early start gives us the perfect excuse to eat at the Meson California guachinche in Plaza […]

Leave a Reply

