Smoking Ban on Tenerife

Posted: November 16, 2010 in Life, Spain, Tenerife, Travel
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Aha, so this is how the Spanish intend to deal with the proposed smoking ban in January – the electronic cigarette.

According to the website it’s “tobacco-free, tar-free and smoke-free” and what’s more it “represents the future of smoking without compromising your health”.

Okay, I’ve heard that one before. I wonder if the new law will cover electronic cigars and cigarettes, or instead of smoke free bars we’ll be surrounded by people puffing on the Vaporillo come the New Year.

If you’re a puffer and are intrigued, there’s a display at La Villa shopping centre in La Orotava till the end of the month.

I love it; it is just so Madmen…so 1960s

Comments
  1. islandmomma Life on a Small Island and Beyond says:

    LOL! They were banned on my recent UK to Tfe flight, so maybe not always an alternative.

    • dragojac says:

      I haven’t seen many people showing a lot of interest at the stand so far. But interestingly, although smoking is banned in the shopping centre the sales person sits there puffing away on his vaporillo – got to say it looked pretty authentic from a distance.

  2. Sonja Kennington says:

    I´m so excited about the smoking ban I can hardly wait! But I can´t see the Spanish people going for anything like this. They´ll just go outside, or break the rules. I only hope this time they enforce the new law.

    PS I loved Mad men, btw.

    • dragojac says:

      I agree Sonja, it’ll be interesting to see what happens. I think it’ll take a bit of time before any new law is complied with fully.

Leave a Reply

