October in Puerto de la Cruz

Posted: October 21, 2010 in Life, Spain, Tenerife, Travel
Tags: , , , ,

I blame the dogs for not capturing what might have been a classic shot. Having to take our temporary house guests for their nightly walk meant that we were 20 minutes later than usual parking in the harbour car park on the way to see Man Utd in the Champion’s League. The sun, which was bathing Puerto de la Cruz and the Orotava Valley with the sort of light that had Florence Du Cane crowing about Puerto being the ‘puerto de oro’ (golden port), was disappearing rapidly behind the Tigaiga range.

It was another beautiful balmy night and the sky was clear save for a couple of puffy white clouds on the cumbre and around the base of Mount Teide. The only other objects in the sky were a few paragliders drifting down from Tigaiga. The views they were experiencing from the heavens must have been indescribable.

The light was so wonderful that, risking being late for kick-off, I grabbed my camera, changed the lens and quickly took tried to capture the lilac sky against the golden slopes. But a) I was about 30 seconds too late and b) in my haste I forgot to change the high ISO setting I’d left the camera set on previously so the results were the grainy images you see here.

But it was such a magical night that I thought I’d show you Puerto’s sky on a warm October evening anyway.

Comments
  1. Lovely – we had rain !!

    • dragojac says:

      Cheers. We were supposed to have rain as well, but it’s been like September weather these last three days with beautiful clarity.

  2. Nikki says:

    Even if not perfect they are very pretty.

  3. islandmomma says:

    At least, living here, our imaginations can compensate for the ISO! I love this time of year. From this side this morning, the mounains are clear as crystal and I am cursing that I have so much to do before my trip , and no time to snap :=( I just took Trixy up to the kennels, which are just above Arona, and the air was so perfect, just slightly cool and the views so sharp, I could have cried!

    • dragojac says:

      I know how you feel. I was cursing being 20 minutes too late, the light and sharpness was exquisite and I missed it : (
      The landscape has almost a deep,liquid quality at certain times of the day. I should be out and about taking advantage of it as well…but life’s made up of should haves.

  4. Richard Ashby says:

    Hi, thanks the photo’s look great to me, especially for those of us who spend too much time working away from the lovely isle.

  5. colleen keyes says:

    Lovely photos Jack…..and as islandmomma says, quite a magical time of the year. A couple of mornings ago waking early while it was still dark, I wandered out on to the terrace to see the almost full moon setting bold red behind La Gomera…..I can only assume it was the sun hitting it at a certain angle as it was approaching sunrise. I was so in awe of it, I didn´t go for my camera until too late (boy you have to move quick with sunrises and sunsets!) Never ever seen a red moon before. Against the black sky it was truly beautiful!

  6. RTorres says:

    Epic! I’ve travelled some bit, but this light can’t be found but here…

Leave a Reply

