Dangerous Plants on Tenerife

Posted: October 7, 2010 in Life, Spain, Tenerife
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Before you move to Tenerife nobody ever warns you about all these dangerous tropical plants that mean you serious bodily harm. Like humans, it’s the quiet one you have to be especially watchful of.

I clocked the bougainvillea to be a bad ‘un’ right away, wielding its dagger length thorns like nature’s version of Mack the Knife. I’ve got the measure of it and dress like the Michelin man if I have to go within a few feet of it. No, it was the pretty little orchid tree that was nearly my undoing.

One of these could have yer eye out!

Everybody coos about how sweet it is, yet little do they know that behind its soft flowery facade lies a dangerous schizophrenic. Most of the year it sits there, swaying in the breeze, wafting its delicate lilac flowers. But come the end of summer it throws a complete wobbler and starts flinging disc-like seeds the size of 5 cent coins all over the joint. The first time it happened I thought someone was throwing pebbles at the window and went out to investigate…taking a few hits to the chest before I spotted the demon tree was the culprit.

At this time of year it sprays seeds from long dried pods with the force and speed of a kalashnikov.  I can’t tell you the number of times both Andy and I have nearly jumped out of our skins as fresh attack after fresh attack splattered against the windows today. Our nerves are shot to hell.

This is the window the tree loves to fling its seeds at.

I only hope that Andy, me and the window are able to resist the siege until the tree tires and goes back to being simply a pretty little thing for the next 11 months.

Comments
  1. islandmomma says:

    Wow. Never knew about those!!!! Nothing like living dangerously!!!

    • dragojac says:

      I’ve researched the tree on various sites and none mention the machine-gun seeds. It might just be that the climate here ‘speeds’ along seed distribution. It’s a damn effective and spectacular method. I’ve been hit by seeds whilst sitting typing at the back of the house.

  2. this is rubish says:

    this is rubish

  3. Anonymous says:

    I agree, this is rubbish, Tenerife has beautiful plants – bouganvilla being one of the best

  4. gwen volkes says:

    I agree, this is rubbish, Tenerife has beautiful plants – bouganvilla being one of the best

  5. dragojac says:

    I guess you guys are part of the orchid tree appreciation society and I’m also guessing you’ve never tried to prune bougainvillea wearing short sleeves and shorts.

    I suspect something may have been lost in translation…i.e. humour : ) On the other hand, it is a lot of nonsensical rubbish.

    BTW the orchid tree is attacking me again. You can deny it all you like but I won’t be silenced…ouch.

Leave a Reply

