Living on Tenerife; My Sole-idarity With Spain in the World Cup

Posted: July 6, 2010 in Football, Life, Spain, Tenerife
Tags: , , , , , ,

As Spain is my adopted homeland, I suppose it’s only right that I should support them in the World Cup – with the talented team they’ve got it’s also a lot less stress inducing than supporting England.

This week my eye was caught by these.

So in one fell swoop, I made my first summer rebajas (sales) purchase (€2.00) and made a statement to show my allegiance to España at the same time.

You could say I’m supporting Spain, whilst Spain supports me.

They could also come in useful if I ever have a jacuzzi built. Whilst I’m in it I could swap the sandals around and leave them at the front gate to let people know where I was.

Comments
  1. islandmomma says:

    LOL your last comment – just spluttered Appletiser all over my screen!

  2. Sarah Lee says:

    Brilliant! I want some IN SPA flip flops. Very witty post and you’re definitely right to back Spain over disappointing England.
    You’re not doing at all badly on my World Cup predictor competition either… get those final scores in and enjoy tonight resplendent in your flip flops.

    • dragojac says:

      Thanks Sarah Lee. I went a bit astray in the quarter finals…a bit like Brazil. But despite my ‘Psychic’ flip-flops I think Germany’s gonna win.

      • Sarah Lee says:

        Ye of little faith! Hope you’re enjoying the celebrations ahead of the final – I’m backing Spain all the way now (even though the Dutch are a force to be reckoned with)! I can see how your predictions went astray – clearly you needed Paul then psychic octopus to help you out.

      • dragojac says:

        LOL – I know, but for all Spain’s smart play, they’ve struggled to get shots on target and I keep expecting some team make them pay for this extravagance. Clearly that hasn’t happened, so I’m with you. Spain to win.

        That’s probably jinxed them now : )

Leave a Reply

