Working in Tenerife: How Do You Say Meritocracy in Spanish?

Posted: December 11, 2009 in Life, politics, Spain, Tenerife
Tags: , , , , , ,

I was told something the other day which shocked, but didn’t completely surprise me. It was this. The Canarian government have a policy of only employing people who are Canarios, or have relations who are Canarios.

Now I don’t know if this is true, I’ll ask someone I know who’s involved in politics here next time I see them. But if it is, it’s an absolute disgrace, probably against European law, and also explains a hell of a lot.

I’ve been involved in recruitment at various stages of my working life. Each time there were stringent regulations to ensure that everyone who applied had a fair chance of being employed. But even with these in place, from a personal point of view, I had one criterion which mattered more than anything else. I wanted the person who was best for the job; simple as that.

If you want to run a professional and successful business/organisation whatever, choosing your staff based on where they were born rather than because they’re the best person for the job seems… well, I’ll let you finish that sentence for me.

It can’t be true, can it?

Comments
  1. Having applied for jobs myself in Tenerife and been TOLD, directly, if verbally, that Canarians must be employed for it, I absolutely know this to be true. And not just in the public sector either.

    And, of course, it’s against European law, like anyone there cares about that!

Leave a Reply

