The Correos…they’re not so bad!!!

Posted: November 12, 2008 in Life, Spain, Tenerife, Travel
Tags: , , , , ,

Okay, what’s prompted this serious U-turn? The visit to the Correos today involved the ubiquitous long wait and when it was eventually my turn, the assistant didn’t have the envelopes I wanted (no surprise there) and referred me to a colleague.

To be fair she dealt with me immediately, but it was how she addressed me as I was leaving that prompted the change of heart.

“Adios, niño,” she called after me.

Niño, god bless her, an affectionate term used for kids. She was probably younger than me as well. It made a…well, not old, but middle aged…sort of…nearly, man very happy.

Call me mister shallow, but the people in the Correos are really alright once you accept their little flaws (I’m sure this benevolence is only a temporary state of affairs).

Leave a Reply

