I’ve just had on of the best meals I’ve eaten on Tenerife. We’d eaten in The Tasquita de Min restaurant, beside the harbour in Puerto de la Cruz, previously, but in the past we’ve only had lunch there.
It’s a popular place, frequented by mainly locals and has a reputation for being a great fish restaurant.
I’m embarrassed to admit it, but until this week I hadn’t tried one of the island’s most popular fish dishes, vieja (parrot fish). No reason why; I love fish, but for some reason I’d never gone for it. Well I have to report that for over four years I’ve been missing out on what must be one of the tastiest fishes in the sea.

Whilst Sue opted for sardines, Andy and I choose the vieja. This was mainly because we didn’t have a clue what the other two ‘fresh fish of the day’ were. One was bocinegro and the other pez perla (I’ve Googled since then and the first seems to be a red porgy and the other a pearlfish – so still none the wiser). The waiter, bless him, tried to mime what the bocinegro and the pez perla looked liked. It was a valiant effort, but a non starter.
Despite it being a Tuesday night, the restaurant was packed almost to capacity. Many of the patrons were eating plates of chicharros and fried squid; both of which looked scrumptious. The only other British diners were, oddly as it’s a fish restaurant, tucking into steaks – the ubiquitous safety net dish for Brits with conservative palates when they’re abroad.

The fish when it came was a revelation. Simply, but perfectly cooked, it was moist, slightly smoky and full of flavour. The flesh fell away from the bone and the skin was crispy and delicious. It was quite simply the best fish I’ve ever eaten and I couldn’t recommend it, or the Tasquita de Min restaurant, highly enough.

Leave a Reply

