The Leaning Tower of Tenerife

Posted: January 19, 2008 in Spain, Tenerife, Travel
Tags: , , , , ,

Tower of the Iglesia de la Concepción Every so often, like many people, I can be guilty of taking photographs which for no apparent reason seem to be slightly askew.  Recently I took some shots of the Iglesia de la Concepción in La Laguna. When I uploaded them I thought my whole vertical perspective must have been shot, because on every one the church’s tower had a most definite list to the right. I couldn’t believe that my judgement could have been so bad, but on the other hand I had been leaning out on to the road to try to avoid getting some workmen in the shot, so I put it down to that.
Then yesterday, I came across some photos I’d taken a couple of years ago and guess what? Exactly the same; a tilt to the right. I looked at the more recent photos more closely and noticed that whilst the tower is tilting, the buildings on the right of the picture are perfectly straight. So the good news is my vertical perspective is fine, but the tower of the Iglesia de la Concepción is doing a very passable impersonation of a certain tower in Pisa. Still, if word gets round it might attract more visitors to the city’s lovely old quarter to see Tenerife’s latest attraction; the ‘Leaning Tower of La Laguna’.

Leave a Reply

