Dude, where’s my brain?

Posted: December 7, 2007 in Life, Movies, Spain, Tenerife, Travel
Tags: , , , , , ,

To avoid the hell that is watching badly dubbed films we occasionally swap DVDs with friends, which is a bit like receiving Christmas presents in as much as we don’t always know what we’re going to end up with (sad I know, but Spanish TV does make you very appreciative).

Sometimes the movies are enjoyable, sometimes not, but a recent swap landed us with quite the most inane and possibly the least funny movie I’ve had the misfortune of ever seeing: ‘Dude, Where’s My Car’.
I’d deliberately managed to avoid it when it came out a few years ago, but in a desert of appallingly dubbed films, beggars can’t be choosers. So I watched it with an open mind. Quite clearly that should have been an empty mind.

Okay, if you’re a couple of thirteen year old boys who’ve had a couple of shandy’s and are puffing on an joint made from oregano then it might raise a smirk, but surely not for anyone else?
When I gave my friend some constructive feedback, i.e. I told her that I thought it was a load of old bollocks, she got quite shirty and suggested that maybe I didn’t get it because I wasn’t stoned. Okay…that’s one point of view, but:

  • I got ‘The Last King of Scotland’, but I’m not an insane baby eating dictator.
  • I got ‘Brokeback Mountain’, but I’m not a gay cowboy in denial.
  • I got ‘Sideways’, but I’m not a wine guzzling failed writer (on the other hand).

The reason I didn’t get ‘Dude, Where’s My Car’ wasn’t because I wasn’t stoned; I didn’t get it because it was garbage.

I’ve got a theory that ‘Dude, Where’s My Car’ was actually financed by the anti- cannabis league. If being stoned makes that film funny, then that’s got to be one of the strongest arguments against smoking dope that there is going.

Leave a Reply

